Truly Deadly (Truly Deadly #1) ~ Rob Aspinall

                                                       truly deadly

Oh baby …. let me tell you when I 1st started with this book, Truly Deadly, I was not really sure that it would pull me in. (Mr. Aspinall PLEASE do not take offense.) It begins:
”Sixteen and my life is basically over. And, no, I am not being dramatic”
Mr. Aspinall gives you a Prologue that is from deep with in the book. A teaser, to pull you into reading more to find out exactly how a 16 yr. old could have her life really ending. Suicide? Murder? Accident? ‘Oh me, Oh my what do we have here?’
”I kept the accelarator planted on the floor, doing over a hundred, with the grille of a Range Rover twisted in a tangle of metal to the rear bumper of the ambulance, driven by a grim-faced bitch doing her best to run us off the road.”
Ok, now you have me interested a bit more … why in Hades would a 16 yr. old be flooring an ambulance with another some how attached to it? LOL guess Mr. Aspinall had the right idea after all. Put a thrilling section from deep in the world this teen is living in. ‘Slam, bam, Thank You Ma’am’ kinda way. Which once you begin reading the next section you will just keep on reading.

I was a bit off because I had to adapt my thinking to a European’s thoughts. Some of the words almost threw me off, thinking the spelling was off or worse the 16 yr. old just used slang way too much. But nope, that was not the issue. It was written “breezy old Manchester of England.” Oh, don’t get me wrong, the MC is a 16 yr. old so there sure did use slang & bloody “#” (uggg I get annoyed when it’s hash tag ‘up the wazzoo. Winking smile )

Will I keep on reading this series. Hmm, let me think for a second or soooo … Bloody Hades I will!!!

Mr. Aspinall created an interesting character in Lorna Walker. Plus when you add in a few others, you can see how she will become more & more “well-rounded.” (is that the proper word? Hmm, I really don’t know. But you are watching a 16 yr. old fight to stay alive after receiving a heart transplant.
Lorna doesn’t back down. She puts one foot in front of the other & hauls arse to keep herself alive. As well as others that she knows or has run across in this tail of … mystery, murder, mayhem … how an organization, hidden so deep, wants her dead because of a list. One that curiosity really killed the cat, because that is what caused her to be brought to their attention!

I cannot wait to see what happens to Lorna in the following book, Infinite Kill. To find out if she can trust those she is with, or if it is just some set up to bring her in.

Leave a comment

Filed under adventure, Alliance, assassin, Dreams, human, Kidnapper, Manchester of England, Mastermind, murder, mystery, Nightmares, seceret society, visions

Leave a Reply

