Cupid Stupid: Return to Cupid, Texas #1 ~ Sylvia McDaniel

                                                        stupid cupid

I have to give a Ms. McDaniel a round of apologize on this story. The title is what pulled me into reading the book, but thankfully it had some type of cover or I would have blown it off.
I am sorry to all the authors out there … but I have this HUGE problem … if there is NO cover, I just cannot pull myself into reading the book or eBook. Yes, that is horrid for a bookaholic to state, but I have tried in the past, only to find the books/eBooks not worth the time. So, from those experiences … well, that is why I just find myself not reading the books, I have tried but I just cannot.

The cover is typical of a romance-type novel … interesting background with some appealing individual on the front. Suppose to pull your eye to the cover. But to be honest, with a title like Cupid Stupid, you could have ditched the individual!!!
I have not bothered to see if there is truly a Cupid Texas, but the detail that Ms. McDaniel goes into writing about this town … there really doesn’t need to be. Because you can picture what she is describing without researching it. Then she puts all that into the tale & the characters, which pull you in & make you want to read to the end.

Cupid Texas has a Cupid Statue with an interesting rumor. If you dance NAKED (oh the poor fool who does LOL) around the statue you will find true love. Hmmm, if this town exists I feel for the local law enforcement … well, may not LOL.
3 life times friends have finally all moved back to their sweet but interesting home town. And on one night of being a little blitzed on wine (can people really get drunk on wine? I can’t stand it unless it’s the German Hot Wine), decide to dance around Cupid to find true love. Well, actually two of them want that but the 3rd has been burnt to a crisp. Therefore wanting NOTHING to do with love or relationships.
Wanna guess which character starts off this series?? Yep, Miss I-don’t-want-a-relationship-or-love but the catch is with the individual who is chasing her down … one of her best friends EX’s. Oh, let’s not forget he is the town SHERRIFF. I about died when I read that little bit, sure it’s one thing to be chased by the law if you broke it. But it’s a complete different story when they want to see if you are “the one.”

I read this book, because it had an interesting title. I love books like that. But now I curious as to how Ms. McDaniel’s gonna pull of the other two love takes. Both of which have interesting tales behind them.
Had the title not drawn me in, I would not have more books to add to my never ending list of reads. But when you create a title like this, it is calling “read me, read me.” Until you give up and start with page 1.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017 Reading Challange, America, Book Review, Bookaholics, Chick LIt, GoodReads, Home Town Pride, human, love, Return to Cupid, Texas, romance, series

Leave a Reply

