The Girl Who Never Was (Otherworld #1) ~ Skylar Dorset

                                                   the girl who never was

I read this book, and have spent plenty of time look at it. Sorting though it. Then I went back to my GoodReads account to get copy of cover … and I still have no idea as to where to begin.
So, I looked to see what my other GoodRead friends were reading this book or had read it. I cam across this:
”Where to start? I’ve been staring at a blinking cursor for a few minutes now, trying to figure out how to put THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS into some sort of coherent thought …” (From another blogger, All Things Urban Fantasy, who I enjoy checking out what they have read.)
I could have laughed when I read this … here I am having the damnest time trying to figure out what to say & they got part of how I felt right there! I would give them huge hugs … but I will simply go with a thank you on this. (To read the rest of their blog on this book simply click the quote above.) It’s worth the time to see how they felt as well. Before picking up that book … sometimes Bookaholics are worth listening to.

I won’t bother quoting any more of All Things Urban Fantasy, because while I agree with parts of it … for me there is something that has been holding me back from doing this review. I began it, but I could never find the words I needed to finish it until now, when I read another book given from the view point of a teen. Not even close to the same type of story, but it finally click what was  holding me back so much.

Ms. Dorset is definitely a talented writer BUT how she decided to put this one is writing pretty much killed the story. When you write 1st person you need to keep it in that area … to me it felt like she went back to edit it into a 1st person novel. Like parts of it were written to sound like they came from a teen but others were written to sound like they came from another individual. Then at the last minute, Ms. Dorset decided to make it 1st person … which if that is the case, it needs some drastic edits to fix it & make it sound like it is coming from ONE person of the same age. This is like it could be same person of different ages, with a LOT of missing parts too.

                                                              missing parts

You begin a tale about a girl being raised by “nutcase” Aunts, only to learn they may not be as crazy as thought. Let’s not forget the father who is in the insane asylum, but how he actually arrived leaves you searching for “prequels.” Then you bounce from a “friendship” to 1st love in the blink of a eye. Let’s not for the fact that one minute you are dealing with a confused teen to a powerful “whatever” she is. Plus there is the best friend who can manage to jump where humans are suppose to, but does & she doesn’t seem all too phased about it … just because that’s how “best friends” are suppose to act. (So much missing!!!!)
                                                               portrait-of-wide-eyed-girl

When you add all this up, the novel should have been FAR thicker/longer. There is no question that so much was left out of this novel, and the missing parts is what (IMO) causes harm to the story. The idea & characters (for the most part) are well rounded. They keep you wanting to read, hoping to get those missing parts … but when you finish, you are STILL missing them. Those are needed to make this tale an amazing one. They need to be added back in, or found …which ever it is in this cause. (Please!)

When I read the other story, 1st person by a teen, that is where I learned what was bothering me. IF that main character skipped over something, you would find it later in the story. When you finished that book, you all ALL the parts (even if they were a bit out of order in some cases) and that MADE the tale.
That is what I feel has been my main problem with this … I could not place exactly what I was missing, part of the bloody story, is what. It makes you feel that you were NOT given what you thought you were reading.

Will I read book 2 … probably because I want to see if she learned & corrected her errors in the 1st novel. You can tell Ms. Dorset has the skills to do this … but I think she lost something & hope she finds it in the following book.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017 Reading Challange, Ability, Abonimations, Amazon.com, Banished, elves, Fae, Fairy, fairy tales, fantasy, Folklore, Goblin, Guardian, non-humaniods, otherworldly, Sanctuary, YA

Leave a Reply

